local food blog

Gold River Buzz

I love this site, its a great way for me to keep up with what is happening with my hometown; which I miss incredibly. Luckily I am fortunate enough to still have family there, so visiting is easy for us!  Gold River is in the news quite a bit these days, with the possibility of it becoming the new site of a waste burning plant; taking the garbage from one city and creating jobs in a town that needs something to help revive it. There is some interesting discussions on the Gold River Buzz site, between various townspeople that I have been following about the subject.

  I find myself torn on the subject, I agree that jobs are needed in order for the town to survive, and I love the concept of green energy, and the waste going somewhere other than into land fills. However I am a little worried about the long term effects on the trees and water. What they have proposed sounds like the impact will be a lot less than the pulp mill that was there for years before, and the trees surrounding the site are healthy despite all of that.

My biggest worry is that the company is another big corporation promising changes, and that they have no real interests in what is best for the community. If things don’t work out they are not left having to see the faces of the townspeople who are depending on this so greatly. To many times have these people been let down and I don’t want to see them hurt again. It broke up my family when the pulp mill closed and even though it was over 10 years ago it is still and sore subject.

 

Gold River Buzz

2 responses

  1. I can’t believe I’m just finding you now! 🙂

    Great site – I love the recipes and tips.

    Thanks for the kind words about the Buzz…!

    Can I link to your site from the Buzz? I won’t if you’re not comfortable… let me know.

    2010/05/19 at 3:48 am

    • Link away!!! Glad you like it, its not quite the buzz, koodoos to you, all the work you put into it, its a terrific additon to the community!!

      2010/05/19 at 4:32 am

Leave a Reply

